Round 67: I Love Lisa vs. Maximum Homerdrive

Round 67: 9F13 vs. AABF13.

9F13: “I Love Lisa” (Season 4 / February 11, 1993)
Written by Frank Mula
Directed by Wes Archer
Showrunners: Al Jean & Mike Reiss

You Need a Heart to Live

As a self-proclaimed Late Night scholar I always get a kick out of Krusty doubling for Carson on The Simpsons, as he does in this episode, with lots of flashbacks alluding to The Tonight Show and adjacent formats you wouldn’t normally associate with a clown hosting a show for children.

A great many quotable lines in this one (“Six words: I’m not gay, but I’ll learn.”), plus a very good song (“We are the Mediocre Presidents”) and Bart as John Wilkes Booth. This one’s gonna be hard to beat.

  • Haven’t checked, but this is one of the episodes where I swear I can hear Matt Groening complain about pupil sizes on the commentary track even when watching it with the regular audio.

AABF13: “Maximum Homerdrive” (Season 10 / March 28, 1999)
Written by John Swartzwelder
Directed by Swinton Scott
Showrunner: Mike Scully

Truck in a drive-in theater

I remember liking this episode when I first saw it, but after a few repeat viewings, there’s not much funny or interesting left.

The winner: 9F13, “I Love Lisa.”

One thought on “Round 67: I Love Lisa vs. Maximum Homerdrive

  1. […] Best. Episode. Ever. (Round 67) – “I Love Lisa” trounces “Maximum Homerdrive”.  […]

Leave a Reply

